Skip Navigation
Edmon Low Library
image of Caudill Travel Fellowship

Caudill Travel Fellowship

About the Collection

The Caudill Travel Fellowship program was established in 1984 to provide funding for the outstanding architecture graduate from the OSU School of Architecture for independent study and travel abroad. The recipient is chosen each year in a rigorous selection process involving both faculty from the School of Architecture and outstanding professional architects. Selection is based on a portfolio of work completed by the student while in school. The Caudill Travel Fellow is required to keep a journal of his or her experiences focused on observation and analysis. These journals are a means for the fellow to record, synthesize, and communicate what they have seen and learned.

Bill Caudill, FAIA, graduated from the OSU School of Architecture in 1937. He finished his formal education at MIT where he received his Master’s degree in 1939. Caudill is one of the 20th century’s most influential and successful architects. He had a vibrant career in both education and practice, serving as Chairman of the School of Architecture at Rice, and founding Caudill, Rowlett & Scott, which became one of the largest and most important 20th century architecture firms. Caudill, Rowlett & Scott was recognized as the AIA Firm of the Year in 1972 and Caudill receive the AIA Gold Medal in 1985. The AIA Gold Medal is the highest recognition bestowed on architects in the United States and only one Medal is awarded each year. At Caudill’s passing, his family and friends established the Caudill Travel Fellowship endowment and gave his AIA Gold Medal to the School of Architecture, where it is on permanent display.

Access the Physical Collection

The original booklets are housed in the School of Architecture Archives.

Past Awardees

1984 | Jeff Otto Graham
1985 | Edmundo Cavarrubias Meyer
1986 | Charles Daniel Knight
1987 | Irwam Sumarlim
1988 | Sie Hong Sim
1989 | Darrell Eugene Thompson
1990 | Grant Boyd Garner
1991 | Not Awarded
1992 | Yuio Hasegawa
1993 | Dallas Branch
1994 | John David Scheib
1995 | Dena Michelle Null
1996 | John Howard Campbell
1997 | Clark Ferguson
1998 | Ko Makabe
1999 | Jeff Bryan Current
2000 | Eric Reid Hoffman
2001 | Andrew Jason Klare
2002 | Maxwell Riley Worrell
2003 | Nathan John Williams
2004 | Nathan Lee Richardson
2005 | Scott A. Smardo
2006 | Sarah Marie Holstedt
2007 | Ryan Edward Nace
2008 | Mitchell Pride
2009 | Michael Sullivan
2010 | Zane Zeiler
2011 | Ben Stukenborg
2012 | Jessica Shelton
2013 | Chase Winkel
2014 | Dylan Hames
2015 | Morgan Kennedy
2016 | Blake Mitchell
2017 | Cameron Roesler
2018 | Tim Campbell